Medicine news

Associate Dean of Indigenous Health position created at USask College of Medicine – News

Dr. Janet Tootoosis (MD) will act as Acting Associate Dean of Indigenous Health to advance work in the portfolio while a search for a permanent Associate Dean is underway. She was hired for a one-year term, starting June 1, 2022, with the expectation that the search will be completed and the position will be filled permanently during that time.

“This is a very important milestone for our college,” said Dr. Preston Smith, dean of the medical school. “While we have had significant success in recent years in areas such as Indigenous admissions and Indigenous health research, we need more resources and better integration and coordination of our existing resources if we really want to respond to the calls to action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. Canada.”

In the interim role, Tootoosis will assemble a team to form the college’s new Indigenous Health Division and lead that team in coordinating and enhancing existing initiatives and laying the groundwork for the division’s longer-term plans and work. . The Associate Dean will provide key leadership to more effectively address the health needs of Indigenous peoples in Saskatchewan and the indigenization of the college.

“The opportunity to focus my knowledge, experience and skills in advancing Indigenous health work for the USask College of Medicine is truly an honor,” said Tootoosis. “I look forward to supporting the initial task of creating the Indigenous Health Division. There is already a lot of work in progress and there is still a lot to do. »

A 1999 graduate of the Medical College’s MD program, Tootoosis is currently a family physician and site director of the residency program at North Battleford, as well as an associate clinical professor at the college.

Currently, the college has three Associate Dean positions for Education, Research, and Faculty Engagement. Tootoosis will be a key member of the college’s senior administrative leadership team alongside the Dean, other Vice Deans and the Chief Operating Officer.