Medicine news

Awards and Honors: Fall 2022 | News from the Department of Medicine

Neera Ahuja Recognized as 2022 Denise O’Leary Award Recipient

This year recipient of the Denise O’Leary Award is Neera Ahuja, MD, Clinical Professor of Medicine, Medical Director of General Inpatient Medicine and Pharmacy, and Division Chief of Hospital Medicine, School of Medicine. The Denise O’Leary Award is an annual award given to physicians who recognize the values ​​of clinical excellence, integrity, humility, inclusiveness and collaboration. colleague Niraj Sehgal, MD, MPH, chief medical officer of Stanford Health Care and senior associate dean for clinical affairs at the School of Medicine, expressed gratitude for Ahuja’s contributions.

“Dr. Ahuja brought consistent commitment, collaboration, and problem solving in helping the organization manage our winter COVID surge and spring nurses’ strike,” Sehgal said. peak, provided better overnight coverage, curated new models of care and leveraged her role as an active clinician to influence the right decisions for our patients.She has been a constant resource to many parts of the organization, available 24 24/7 to respond to issues/concerns, and always ready to adapt if necessary. Our patients, trainees, operational teams and my own team are immensely grateful to her. Congratulations Nera!