Medicine news

Opening of a new student center at the University Health Center – News from the Faculty of Medicine

Students give a boost to the new relaxation area of ​​the University Health Center.

A new relaxation space for Wayne State University School of Medicine students is now open in the University Health Center.

The school celebrated the inauguration of the new student relaxation area with a reception on October 17.

The facility includes a large group study room.

The new facility, located on 6E of the University Health Center, is the result of a year-long collaboration between the Student Senate and the Dean’s Office.

Designed by students and the School of Medicine administration, the 5,400 square foot facility is for the exclusive use of WSU School of Medicine students. It is available to students seven days a week, 24 hours a day.

Eighteen smaller study rooms allow students to meet in groups of four.

The space includes 18 small group study rooms, a large group study room, individual study desks and a conference room. Additionally, there are three duty rooms for rotating medical students, lockers, a kitchen area with refrigerators and food preparation area, a lactation room equipped with a microwave and mini- refrigerator, a relaxation/meditation/prayer room and toilets.

Students have access to individual lockers in the establishment.

There is WSU internet access, sofas and chairs for relaxing, prayer and meditation mats, a water filtration fountain with a water bottle refill station, and coffee and tea provided by the Student Senate.

The new facility, along with the Scott Hall room 1328 student lounge that opened in January, significantly expands student-only facilities on the School of Medicine campus. This space, adjacent to the cafeteria, is open only to medical students and is available seven days a week.

Students and members of the administration celebrate the opening of the student lounge, including, from left, Class of 2024 representative Andrew Abdallah, Student Senate Executive Council Vice President Mirna Kaafarani, Dean’s Office Project Associate Nicole Young, Dean Wael Sakr, MD, Student Senate Executive Council Chairman Cullen Hudson, and Student Senate Executive Council MD/Ph.D. Representative Ashley Kramer.