Medicine news

Winners of ninth annual vision research workshop named – School of Medicine News

The winners of the posters and oral presentations for Wayne State University School of Medicine’s Ninth Annual Vision Research Workshop have been announced.

The workshop, held on October 12, was presented by the Department of Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences and the Kresge Eye Institute.

Presentation winners included:

Poster presentations

First place: Nicholas Pryde, “Evaluation of NanodropperTM Pipette Attachment”

Second Place: Bing Ross, “Preferential Calcification Mechanism in Hydrophilic Versus Hydrophobic Acrylic IOLs”

Third place: Pratima Suvas, “Expression, localization and characterization of CXCR4 and its ligand CXCL12 in corneas infected with herpes simplex virus 1”

Oral presentations

First Place: Ashley Kramer, “A Comparative Analysis of Gene and Protein Expression in a Zebrafish Model of Chronic Photoreceptor Degeneration”

Second Place: Jeremy Bohl, “Long-range cholinergic signaling contributes to direction selectivity in the mouse retina”

Third Place: Zain Hussain, “Models of Diagnosis and Treatment of Age-Related Macular Degeneration in Asian Medicare Beneficiaries”

Mark Juzych, MD, chair of the Department of Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences and director of the Kresge Eye Institute, gave a welcome address.
Linda Hazlett, Ph.D., associate dean of research and graduate programs and vice chair of the department, provided an overview of the research.

The keynote speaker giving the annual Robert N. Frank, MD, Clinical Translational Lecture was Reza Dana, MD, MPH, Claes H. Dohlman Professor and Vice President of Academic Programs in Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School, who presented “New Ways of Doing Old Things: Translational Investigations in the Management of Common Corneal and Ocular Surface Disorders. »